Archiving and Deleting Applications

Chris Quiroz -

Looking to store away applications to report on at a later time or just to clear up the workflow of old applications from the previous cycle? There are two ways to remove applications that have made it all the way through your review process or were not successful in the application process:

  • Deleting applications: deletes all data related to that application. Returning applicants are treated as brand new. They cannot re-use data from past applications.
  • Archiving applications: moves the application data into the archived folder. Returning applicants cannot view what they submitted before but they can re-use form data, documents, and videos from their archived applications when data reuse is active on the site.

Warning: Changes to your workflow affect archived applications. For example, if you delete a question from a form, the answers to that question will be deleted from all applications using that form. This would include all active and inactive submissions (Archived, Deleted, Withdrawn) for the group. Click here to find out more about the effects of live changes to your forms.

Deleting Applications

Deletes applications, and all their related data, from your site.

To delete an application:

  1. Click Manage your site from the left navigation.
  2. Under Submission, click the applicant group you want to delete applications from.
  3. On the Manage Applicants page, check the applications you want to delete.
  4. At the top list of options, select the Gear icon.
  5. Click Delete Selected Submissions.

Archiving Applications

Archiving applications keeps your report data accurate, applicant portal clean, and application management easy. Unlike deleting applications, archiving lets returning users reuse their data.

To archive an application:

  1. Click Manage your site from the left navigation.
  2. Under Submission, click the applicant group you want to archive applications from.
  3. On the Manage Applicants page, check the applications you want to archive.
  4. At the top list of options, select the Gear icon.
  5. Click Archive Selected Submissions.

Archiving Applications on an Awards Site

If your site utilizes our awards feature the process for Archiving Applications may vary slightly. 

To archive an application. 

  1. Click Manage your site from the left navigation.
  2. Click the Award Applicants to access a list of all of your submissions in the site.
  3. On the Manage Applicants page, check the applications you want to archive.
  4. At the top list of options, select the Gear icon.
  5. Click Archive Selected Submissions.

You can also do this within the submission list of a specific award, in order to do this. 

  1. Click Manage your site from the left navigation.
  2. Go to Manage Awards (NOTE: This terminology may vary depending on how you have labeled awards within your site.)
  3. Depending on if you want to view Submitted or Not Submitted submissions, click on the Hyperlinked number underneath either column: Submissions (Submitted) or Submissions (Not Submitted)
  4. Select the applications you want to archive.
  5. At the top list of options, select the Gear icon.
  6. Click Archive Selected Submissions.

Viewing Archived or Deleted Applications

Aggregate and filter through all archived or deleted applications to find information or restore applications to an active status.

To view all archived or deleted applications:

  1. Click the Filters button at the top right corner of the Manage Applications page.
  2. In the filter window, select Basic Filter: Has status of.
  3. Click the option is exactly and then Archived or Deleted.

How does changing live data affect archived submissions?

  • When a task or a question from a form or is deleted from your workflow, the information captured by that question or form will also be deleted from any archived submission. Please see the following documentation for more information: Edit a Live Form
  • Re-ordering variables or choices within a question will not affect the PDF of the archived submission, but will affect any reporting on the field that was re-ordered.
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.