"Archiving" Tasks to Preserve Collected Data

Sarah Paterson -

The purpose of this documentation is to outline the steps you will need to take in order to archive a form within your Workflow. Some of the main reasons you may wish to archive a form would be:

  • It is no longer relevant to your workflow
  • It is no longer relevant to your workflow and you wish to replace it with a new form
  • You want to make major changes to the form, but wish to preserve the data you have collected

In this Article...

Editing a Live Form

When editing a form that is live in the site you will notice the following warning appear at the top of the screen:

Warning: It appears that this form has live data and responses. Making changes to the form after collecting data is strongly discouraged as it could harm the integrity of your data.

This warning appears because when a user responds to a question within a form, the responses they give are stored within that form and more specifically the question they responded to. Therefore, when pulling reports and viewing the forms, the responses you have collected are associated to the question.

Altering the form, such as removing questions, or adding or removing options from a dropdown or checkbox type question can skew the data. For example, if you remove a question from a form the answers that have been given to that question will be removed from the system. You can find more information on what you can and cannot edit within a form here: Edit a Live Form

Return to Top

Archiving Tasks

These steps will walk you through how to Archive a task in your workflow, they can be used if:

  • It is no longer relevant to your workflow
  • It is no longer relevant to your workflow and you wish to replace it with a new form

How to Archive your task

  1. Add a new stage: We call this the "Graveyard" or "Old Task" Stage. This stage will be used to store your old task(s) within the Workflow. 
  2. Move your task: Click on the task you wish to archive and under the Stage & Group tab, change the Stage to be the new Graveyard stage you just created. 
  3. Create a new task: In the instance that you would like to replace it with a new form you can now Create your new task within the workflow.

Return to Top

Making Major Changes to a Form

These steps will walk you through how to Archive a task in your workflow if:

  • You want to make major changes to a form, but wish to preserve the data you have collected

In order to be able to make major changes to a form, we suggest duplicating the task, and making changes in a new version of the form. This way the responses given to the previous version will remain intact and you can still make changes to the form. In order to do this:

  1. Add a new stage: We call this the "Graveyard" or "Old Task" Stage. This stage will be used to store your old task(s) within the Workflow. 
  2. Duplicate the task: The duplicated task will have the original task name with (copy) beside it.
  3. Move your Task: Click on the original task in your workflow and under the Stage & Group tab, change the Stage of the task to be the new Graveyard stage you just created. Note: We would also suggest changing the name of this task slightly so that you can easily identify it with the new task when pulling reports and creating triggers. You can also edit the name of the new task how you wish.
  4. Update Triggers: Now that the new task has been created, you will be able to see it within the Stage your old task used to be in. You will now need to update any triggers that you had connected to the old task so that applicants can still flow properly through your workflow.
  5. Edit New Form: Now that all this has been done you can now go into the new form and make the necessary changes, it will look identical to the old one however, the previous information will be preserved and future applicants will fill out the application using the new form and questions.

When the task old task is moved to the Graveyard stage, it will be preserved within the workflow. All data collected in it will remain intact, however it will no longer be visible to your applicants, provided no submissions are moved into this stage. 

Return to Top

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.